Journal: God’s Love & Family’s Salvation

 

Several weeks ago, our pastor preached on the parable of the wheat and tares (Matt 13), and talked about the judgment that awaits every person that does not repent. Throughout the whole sermon, I thought of some of my family and friends who weren’t saved. I know that my youngest sister has come to know the Lord, but I still had many family members who claim to be Christians but do not know the truth.

My heart was heavy for my family members who do not know the Lord. Why are we not out there telling them the glorious truth of the gospel? If we truly love others, must we not care about their souls?

As my sister and I talked about the sermon and our families after the service, one of the older men at the church approached us. He then shared to us how we felt about his brothers who were not saved. I think he could tell that I was distressed about my unbelieving family, because he reminded me of 2 Peter 3:9.

He told me that for over 40 years, he has agonized in prayer over his family’s salvation. But the one thing he took comfort in is that God does not take pleasure in the death of the wicked (Ezekiel 18:23), that He does not  want anyone to be destroyed but wants everyone to repent (2 Pet 3:9). He reminded me of God’s long-suffering and mercy.

He adjured us to stay faithful, no matter what the outcome. And he reminded us to trust in the Lord ultimately, because He is an omnibenevolent God. He is trustworthy, and His wisdom is far-reaching than ours. He gave me the illustration of an ant with Calculus. He says, “No matter how much I teach the ant Calculus, it will never understand it. We’re like that ant. Even if God gave us the full blueprint of His plans, we will not comprehend it. We have finite minds, unlike His, who is infinite and unfathomably deep. Trust Him.”

To many, this may have been a no-brainer. But it was something I needed to be reminded of. That God is so merciful and wants everyone to come to know Him. That even in the destruction of the wicked, He doesn’t want it. The heart of our God! What majestic love He has poured out on us, those whom He has given the gift of faith!

Praying for my family members to come to know the saving grace, and the truth of God’s love displayed on the cross. And praying that the Lord would help me to be quicker to run and trust in Him, even when I don’t fully understand everything.

Leave a Reply

