Journal: Encounter with a Homeless Man

A few days ago, I was running late for work. So much so that I didn’t even have time to make and sit down for breakfast. I was so hungry that I had no option but go to McDonald’s to buy food (note the desperation), and decided to eat it once I got to the office.

When I entered the parking lot, I saw a homeless guy laying by the stairs to our office. His belongings were right by him, which consisted of a cart full of plastic bags and other things. He was disheveled, dusty and dirty all over.

I was clutching the bag of food in my hand. I was hungry, but I knew he needed it more. So I approached him and asked him if he would like some breakfast. 

“Sir, would you like some breakfast?”

breakfast4u

No response. I wrote on the bag “Breakfast 4U” and thought of leaving it where he was laying down.

“Sir, I have some food for you.”

He opened his eyes. “I don’t need it. I don’t need your pity.”

He turned his back, and no longer responded. I left the food right where he was, and told him that it was his food whether he takes it now or later.

When I got to the office, it made me think of how similar that interaction was with whenever I share the gospel to some people.

The gospel, much like that food was to the man, is offered for free. But it requires people to accept the offer in humility. And accepting would also mean acknowledging that they were, indeed, in need of it. But people refuse it, because it is much easier to hide in that cloak of pride than to come out in humility and contrition.

I wonder if I’ll see him again. If I do, I pray that I would be able to share the gospel to him. Physical food is nothing compared to the spiritual food he truly needs.

…man does not live by bread alone,
but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.
– Deut 8:3

Leave a Reply

